Florals and Hidden Treasures

_MG_7782_MG_7733border _MG_7734 _MG_7744_MG_7737 _MG_7745 _MG_7746 _MG_7748 _MG_7756 _MG_7770_MG_7752 _MG_7799 _MG_7802 _MG_7825border_MG_7838 _MG_7827border

Wearing: Forever 21 romper (similar here), Topshop boots (similar here)

Photography by Ruth Lee

Florals for spring. Maybe Miranda Priestly would not have approved, but I love me a light, fresh, floral look on a sunny day. Having traditionally feminine taste at times, I tend to go a little crazy over dainty, ladylike, nature-inspired prints. Don them on a cute little romper and give me an hour or two under the sun frolicking about in the grass and I am absolutely content. This adorable number from Forever 21 is one of my most convenient favorite outfits to wear absolutely anywhere, but especially on dates or on hikes due to how comfortable and chic it looks.

You probably recognize the backdrop of this shoot from my post on Ancient Rail Corridors way back in December, and more than two months later, here it is. (I really need to work on getting all the fashion shoots I did last year out of the way.) Despite this post being way too late, it remains one of my all time favorite photoshoots. I had been anxious to find a spot along the trail to shoot this pretty print, and when I saw a dilapidated green shed standing lone and forgotten a little out of the way, I fell in love immediately and knew I had to use it as a backdrop. It was perfect; I especially loved how my worn leather boots complemented the grubbiness of the shed.

Also, owing to Ruth being a very conceptual and out-of-the-box photographer, I was forced to lie at the side of a gravelly tunnel for some low-lighting mood shots. If I looked uncomfortable in the picture, it is because I was, but the shots turned out uniquely avant-garde, and I managed to remove almost all the stones and sandy bits out of my hair after that, so all was well. This is why I love adventures with Ruth so much, we never know where and what we’ll end up doing for the sake of art.

3 thoughts on “Florals and Hidden Treasures

Leave a Reply

