Banana Cinnabun

_MG_0096 _MG_0114white _MG_0117 _MG_0120 _MG_0124_MG_0110white _MG_0134_MG_0138 _MG_0130

Jewellery: LTXLG Shine Bracelet

Photography and styling by myself

It did not start off as a good day for me when I set out to make this recipe. I had gotten into a small argument with my mom, and when the entire family (minus me) set off to do some really awesome shopping and I was left alone in the house to start whipping up this delicious dessert, I was seething. Thankfully, it probably was just a case of being too close to too many people on a typical Sunday. As soon as they cleared out I was able to reach a never before achieved state of inner peace while going about my usual Sunday ritual of cooking, styling and food photographing. It was bliss to bake in complete silence, and when the oven pinged, voila… to be left in more peace to style the food. Thanks to the space and quiet, I was able to devote a lot more time and effort than usual to creating these photographs today.

This was my first time making an actual loaf from Clean Eating Goddess’s recipe directory, and it was astoundingly easy. My favorite part is the cinnamon sugar middle. With my Sunday treats being so well received now, and individual family members demanding their favorite bakes and savory meals, I actually have my hands full planning a full dinner menu for a gathering on my mom’s birthday in two weeks… with six pizzas… The recipe for that will be up next week, also from CEG. šŸ˜‰

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup plain flour

1/2 cup almond flour

3 ripe medium bananas

1/4 cup coconut oil

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup honey

4 eggs

1/2Ā  cup brown sugar

1 heaped tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla extract

pinch of salt

fresh strawberries (optional topping)

DIRECTIONS:

1. Line and grease a 8.5″ x 4.5″ loaf pan (I used a Pyrex glass casserole with the same dimensions) with parchment paper.

2. Mix plain flour, almond flour, baking soda and salt in a mixing bowl until well combined.

3. In another mixing bowl, mash the bananas until as smooth as possible with a fork.

4. In a small bowl, whisk eggs, honey and vanilla extract until well combined. Add mixture to the mashed banana in the mixing bowl and mix well.

5. In a small bowl, combine cinnamon and sugar and mix well.

6. Pour the liquid ingredients in the mixing bowl to the first dry ingredient mixture. Mix well until combined. Add coconut oil and mix well.

7. Pour half the batter into the loaf pan. Coat the surface of the batter with the cinnamon sugar mixture, then cover with the remaining batter.

8. Pre-heat the oven to 170 degrees Celsius and bake for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean from a piercing in the center.

9. Leave to cool on a wire rack for 20 minutes before serving.

9. Top with fruit of choice. I went with fresh strawberries. Enjoy.

6 thoughts on “Banana Cinnabun

Leave a Reply

