Inventive Cookies

IMG_8116 IMG_8123_MG_5932

Photos by myself

I have been experimenting with recipes from Clean Eating Goddess whom I absolutely adore, because all of her awesome sweet recipe ideas are wholly nutritious and use mostly raw ingredients. They are also incredibly inventive and unique, which is what I like about cooking and baking. To me it’s all about creating new and interesting recipes. Some are hits, some are misses, but I would always rather make something new than an old favorite over and over. I tweaked this recipe a little in the making, and the below shows the ingredients and amounts I would use in the future based on what I learned from this current batch. These cookies are so soft they are perfect for old people, as my grandma can testify; she refused to let anyone else eat the portion of cookies I gave her. You can also barely taste the sweet potato in them. My girlfriend hates sweet potatoes, and she loved these until I mentioned the key ingredient (my mistake!). She was sadly a lot more wary of eating them after that.

These are so healthy, delicious and unique, I hope you enjoy making them as well! Be forewarned, if you do start to lick your fingers in midst of making these, you will end up eating a lot of cookie dough because it tastes so good.

Ingredients:

2 large sweet potatoes

2 cups almond flour

1 cup butter

3/4 cup honey

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

5 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp all spice

1/2 tsp nutmeg

DIRECTIONS:

1. Peel and boil sweet potatoes until very soft, then mash them in a large bowl with a fork.

2. Add honey and butter and stir. Add spices, almond flour, baking soda and salt.

3. If the dough is too soft, add more almond flour.

5. Refrigerate overnight, or for at least 2-3 hours.

6. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Line baking trays with parchment paper. Form small balls using the dough, and then press down flat with a fork.

7. Bake for about 40 min or until lightly browned.

Other social media:

Instagram: @velveteencockroach

6 thoughts on “Inventive Cookies

Leave a Reply

